The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
H H S Department of Health and Human Services
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Health Resources and Services Administration

A-Z Index  |  Questions?  |  Order Publications  |  HRSA Mobile

Hansen's Disease Ambulatory Care Clinics

Individuals living in the continental United States, Puerto Rico or the U.S. Territories may receive medical care for the diagnosis and treatment of Hansen's disease (leprosy)-related conditions at one of the 16 Federally-supported outpatient clinics in ten States and Puerto Rico.

Phone 1-800-642-2477, weekdays 9 am to 5:30 pm ET for referral to one of 900 private physicians nationwide who have expertise in treating Hansen's disease (leprosy) (Hawaii: 1-808-733-9831).

Services

  • Confirmation of diagnosis through skin biopsies
  • Medical care
  • Medications
  • Hospitalization for treatment of complications at the Ochsner Medical Center - Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Clinical consultation for physician-referred patients with eye problems and those in need of reconstructive hand or foot surgery
  • Professional and patient education materials and conferences

Clinics

Arizona

  • Phoenix Hansen’s Disease Clinic
    Maricopa County Health Department
    1645 East Roosevelt Street
    Phoenix, Arizona  85006
    PH:   (602) 372-2039
    Fax:  (602) 372-3862
    Primary Physician - Dr. Ronald Pust
    Tucson Office:  (520) 626-5650
    Cell:  (520) 668-6441
    email:  rpust@email.arizona.edu
    Public Health Nurse – Brenda Cabrales, RN
    PH:  (602) 372-1407
    email:  brendacabrales@mail.maricopa.gov
    Physical Therapist - Tracy Carroll, MPH
    email:  tcarroll@email.arizona.edu

Arkansas

  • Springdale Hansen’s Disease Clinic
    Joseph H. Bates Outreach Clinic of Washington County
    614 E. Emma Avenue, Suite 247
    Springdale, AR 72764
    PH: (479) 751-3630
    Fax: (479) 751-4838
    Primary Physician: Linda McGhee, MD
    PH: (479) 521-0263
    PH: (479) 973-8450 (Office)
    email: lmcghee@uams.edu
    Public Health Nurse - Sandy Hainline Williams, RN
    PH: (479) 751-3630
    Cell: (479) 422-0190
    email: sandra.hainline@arkansas.gov

California

Florida

  • Miami Hansen’s Disease Clinic
    Jackson Memorial Hospital
    1611 N.W. 12th Avenue
    ACC East – 2nd Floor
    Department of Dermatology
    Miami, FL 33136-1096
    PH: (305) 585-7348
    Fax: (305) 585-6397
    Primary Physician - Dr. Anne Burdick
    email: Aburdick@med.miami.edu
    Public Health Nurse - Gail Chepenik, RN
    email: gchepenik@jhsmiami.org

Georgia

  • Atlanta Hansen's Disease Clinic
    Emory Mid-Town Hospital
    550 Peachtree Street NE
    7th Floor MOT
    Atlanta, GA  30308
    PH:   (404) 686-5885
    Fax:  (404) 686-4508
    Primary Physicians – Dr. Jessica Fairley/Dr. Phyllis Kozarsky
    email:  jessica.fairley@emory.edu
    email:  pkozars@emory.edu
    PH:   (404) 686-5885
    Public Health Nurse: Roberta Dismukes, RN
    email:  roberta.dismukes@emoryhealthcare.org
    PH:   (404) 320-7668
    PH:   (404) 686-7668

Illinois

  • Chicago Hansen’s Disease Clinic
    University of Illinois
    College of Medicine at Chicago
    Department of Dermatology, (MC 624)
    808 S. Wood, RM 376 CME
    Chicago, IL 60612
    PH: (312) 996-0734
    Fax: (312) 355-0870
    Primary Physician - Dr. Carlotta Hill
    email: chhill@uic.edu
    Public Health Nurse – Gladys Lee, RN
    email: FLLee@uic.edu

Massachusetts

  • Boston Hansen’s Disease Clinic
    Lahey Medical Center
    41 Mall Road
    Burlington, MA  01805
    PH:   (781) 744-5670
    Fax:  (781) 744-5687
    Primary Physician - Dr. Danielle Miller
    email:  daniellemiller@lahey.org
    Public Health Nurse - Ms. Stephanie Burns, RN, D.N.C.
    email:  stephanie.a.burns@lahey.org

New York

  • New York Hansen’s Disease Clinic
    Bellevue Hospital Center
    Department of Dermatology
    462 First Avenue, Room 17-N-7
    New York, NY 10016
    PH: (212) 562-5670
    Fax: (212) 263-6423
    Primary Physician - Dr. William Levis
    email: william_levis@yahoo.com
    Public Health Nurse - Lydia Macwan, RN
    PH: (212) 562-6096
    email: Lydia.Macwan@bellevue.nychhc.org
    Physical Therapist - Louis Iannuzzi, PT, C.Ped.
    email: Lni1@nyu.edu

Puerto Rico

  • San Juan Hansen’s Disease Clinic
    University of Puerto Rico
    Medical Sciences Campus
    School of Medicine - Dept. of Dermatology
    P. O. Box 365067
    San Juan, PR 00936-5067
    PH: (787) 765-7950
    Fax: (787) 767-0467
    Primary Physician - Dr. Pablo Almodo′var
    email: dermatol.rcm@upr.edu
    Public Health Nurse - Sonia Santos-Expo′sito, RN, BSN
    PH: (787) 758-2525 Ext: 5503
    email: sonia.santos@upr.edu

Texas

  • Department of State Health Services
    Hansen’s Disease Program
    P. O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1939
    Austin, TX 78714-9347
    PH: (800) 252-8239
    Fax: (512) 365-7824 (Primary Fax)
    Fax: (512) 533-3167 (Secondary Fax)
    Nurse Consultant - Linda Brown, MS, RN
    PH: (512) 533-3144
    email: lindaj.brown@dshs.state.tx.us
    Officer Administrator - Kirbi Woods
    PH: (512) 739-1876
    email: kirbi.woods@dshs.state.tx.us
  • Dallas County Health & Human Services
    2377 N. Stemmons Freeway, Suite 522
    Dallas, TX  75207-2710
    PH:   (214) 819-2010
    Fax:  (214) 819-6095
    Physicians - Dr. Jack Cohen/Dr. Sharon Nations
    Email  jbcohendo@aol.com
    PH:   (817) 753-6633 (private practice)
    email:  sharon.nations@utsouthwestern.edu
    PH:   (214) 819-2010
    Public Health Nurse – Claire Keels, RN
    email:  clairekeels@dallascounty.org
  • Houston Hansen’s Disease Clinic
    Northside Health Center
    8504 Schuller Street
    Houston, TX 77093
    PH: (832) 393-4804
    Fax: (832) 393-5247
    Physician - Dr. Terry Williams/Dr. Steven Mays
    email: Tewill2391@aol.com
    PH: (281) 332-8571
    email: Steven.Mays@uth.tmc.edu
    PH: (713) 500-8329
    Public Health Nurse – Marion Matsu, RN, CCM
    email: Marion.Matsu@houstontx.gov
    PH: (832) 393-4798 (Main)
    PH: (832) 248-7150 (Cell)
  • Texas Center for Infectious Disease
    2303 S. E. Military Drive
    San Antonio, TX  78223
    Fax:  (210) 531-4508
    Physician - Dr. Adriana Vasquez
    PH:  (210) 531-4565
    email:  adriana.vasquez@dshs.state.tx.us
    Physician - Dr. Lynn Horvath
    PH:  (210) 531-4524
    email:  lynn.horvath@dshs.state.tx.us
    Public Health Nurse - Debbie Mata, RN
    PH:    (210) 531-4576
    PH:    (210) 531-4295
    Cell:  (210) 834-9002
    Appointment Secretary: (210) 531-4526
    email:  debbie.mata@dshs.state.tx.us  
    PH:   (210) 531-4526
  • Department of State Health Services Region (HSR) 11
    601 W. Sesame Drive

    Harlingen, TX  78550
    PH:   (956) 423-0130
    Fax:  (956) 444-3295
    Physician - Dr. Richard Wing
    email:  richard.wing@dshs.state.tx.us
    Public Health Nurse – Melissa Davis, RN
    PH:   (956) 423-0130, Ext. 5573
    email:  melissaa.davis@dshs.state.tx.us

Washington

  • Seattle Hansen’s Disease Clinic
    Harborview Medical Center
    2 West Madison Clinic – 359930, 325 Ninth Avenue
    Seattle, WA  98104
    PH:   (206) 520-5000 or (206) 744-5113
    Toll Free #: 1-877-520-5000
    Fax:  (206) 744-5109
    Primary Physician - Dr. James Harnisch
    email:  jpharnisch@comcast.net
    Public Health Nurse – Chinh Tran, RN
    email:  tranc@u.washington.edu

Hawaii

  • Hawaii State Department of Health
    Hansen's Disease Community Program
    3650 Maunalei Ave.
    Honolulu, HI 96816
    PH: (808) 733-9831
    Fax: (808) 733-9836
    Program Manager: Lori Ching, RN
    Direct Line/Voice Mail: (808) 733-4663
    email: lori.ching@doh.hawaii.gov