The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
H H S Department of Health and Human Services
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Health Resources and Services Administration

A-Z Index  |  Questions?   |  HRSA Mobile

  • Print this
  • Email this

Hansen's Disease Ambulatory Care Clinics

Individuals living in the continental United States, Puerto Rico or the U.S. Territories may receive medical care for the diagnosis and treatment of Hansen's disease (leprosy)-related conditions at one of the 16 Federally-supported outpatient clinics in ten States and Puerto Rico.

Phone 1-800-642-2477, weekdays 9 am to 5:30 pm ET for referral to one of 900 private physicians nationwide who have expertise in treating Hansen's disease (leprosy) (Hawaii: 1-808-733-9831).

Services

  • Confirmation of diagnosis through skin biopsies
  • Medical care
  • Medications
  • Hospitalization for treatment of complications at the Ochsner Medical Center - Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Clinical consultation for physician-referred patients with eye problems and those in need of reconstructive hand or foot surgery
  • Professional and patient education materials and conferences

Clinics

Arizona

Phoenix Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Maricopa County Health Department
1645 East Roosevelt Street
Phoenix, Arizona  85006
PH:   (602) 372-2039
Fax:  (602) 372-3862
Primary Physician - Dr. Ronald Pust
Tucson Office:  (520) 626-5650
Cell:  (520) 668-6441
email:  rpust@email.arizona.edu
Public Health Nurse – Brenda Cabrales, RN
PH:  (602) 372-1407
email:  brendacabrales@mail.maricopa.gov
Physical Therapist - Tracy Carroll, MPH
email:  tcarroll@email.arizona.edu
PH:  (520) 312-5750

Arkansas

Springdale Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Joseph H. Bates Outreach Clinic of Washington County
614 E. Emma Avenue, Suite 247
Springdale, AR  72764
PH:    (479)-751-3630
Fax:   (479)-751-4838
Medical Director: Naveen Patil, MD, MHSA, MA
PH:    (501) 661-2415 (Office)
PH:    (501) 661-2226 (Fax)
PH:    (501) 772-4809 (Office Cellular)
email:  naveen.patil@arkansas.gov
Primary Physician:  Linda McGhee, MD
PH:    (479) 521-0263
PH:    (479) 973-8450 (office)
email:  lmcghee@uams.edu
Public Health Nurse - Sandy Hainline Williams, RN
PH:    (479) 751-3630
Cell:   (479) 422-0190`
email:  sandra.hainline@arkansas.gov

California

Los Angeles Hansen’s Disease Clinic
LAC+USC Medical Center
1200 N. State St.
Clinic Tower A5B123
Los Angeles, CA  90033
PH:   (323) 409-5240
Fax:  (323) 441-8152
Primary Physician - Dr. Maria T. Ochoa
email:  mariatoc@usc.edu
PH:   (323) 226-3373
Public Health Nurse - Helen Mora, RN
email:  hmora@dhs.lacounty.gov
Occupational Therapist - Rob Jerskey
email:  robjerskey@yahoo.com

Martinez Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Contra Costa Regional Medical Center
Outpatient Specialty Clinic
2500 Alhambra Avenue
Martinez, CA  94553
PH:   (925) 370-5868
Fax:  (925) 370-5529
Primary Physician - Drs. Sutherland/Saffier
email:  ssutherland@hsd.co.contra-costa.ca.us
PH:   (501) 590-2536
email:  ksaffier@yahoo.com
PH:   (925) 370-5200 Ext.:4743
Public Health Nurse – Barbara Hobson, RN
PH:   (925) 313-6757
email:  Barbara.Hobson@hsd.cccounty.us
Community Health Worker – Sebastian Basalic
email:  Sebastian.Basalic@hsd.cccounty.us

San Diego Hansen’s Disease Clinic
HHSA, North Central Regional Center
5055 Ruffin Road, Mail Stop: N-513
San Diego, CA  92123
PH:   (858) 573-7338
Fax:  (858) 573-7325
Primary Physician - Dr. Erik O. Gilbertson
email:  erik.gilbertson@sdcounty.ca.gov
Public Health Nurse – Krisanto Equipado, RN
email:  krisanto.equipado@sdcounty.ca.gov
PH:  (858) 573-7320

Florida

Miami Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Jackson Memorial Hospital
1611 N.W. 12th Avenue
ACC East – 2nd Floor
Department of Dermatology
Miami, FL  33136-1096
PH:   (305)585-2511
Fax:  (305) 585-6397
Primary Physician - Dr. Anne Burdick
email:  Aburdick@med.miami.edu
Public Health Nurse - Gail Chepenik, RN
email:  gchepenik@jhsmiami.org

Georgia

Atlanta Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Emory Mid-Town Hospital
550 Peachtree Street NE
7th Floor MOT
Atlanta, GA  30308
PH:   (404) 686-5885
Fax:  (404) 686-4508
Primary Physicians – Dr. Jessica Fairley/Dr. Phyllis Kozarsky
email:  jessica.fairley@emory.edu
email:  pkozars@emory.edu
PH:   (404) 686-5885
Public Health Nurse: Roberta Dismukes, RN
email:  roberta.dismukes@emoryhealthcare.org
PH:   (404) 320-7668
PH:   (404) 686-7668

Illinois

Chicago Hansen’s Disease Clinic
University of Illinois
College of Medicine at Chicago
Department of Dermatology, (MC 624)
808 S. Wood, RM 376 CME
Chicago, IL  60612
PH:   (312) 996-0734
Fax:  (312) 355-0870
Primary Physician - Dr. Carlotta Hill
email:  chhill@uic.edu
Public Health Nurse – Gladys Lee, RN
email:  FLLee@uic.edu

Massachusetts

Boston Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Lahey Medical Center
41 Mall Road
Burlington, MA  01805
PH:   (781) 744-5670
Fax:  (781) 744-5687
Primary Physician - Drs. Samuel Moschella/Julia Anderson
email:  samuel.moschella@lahey.org
PH:   (781) 744-8444
email:  Julia.Anderson@lahey.org
PH:   (781) 744-3313
Public Health Nurse - Ms. Stephanie Burns, RN, D.N.C.
email:  stephanie.a.burns@lahey.org

New York

New York Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Bellevue Hospital Center
Department of Dermatology
462 First Avenue, Room 17-N-7
New York, NY  10016
PH:   (212) 562-5670
Fax:  (212) 263-6423
Primary Physician - Dr. William Levis
email:  william_levis@yahoo.com
Public Health Nurse – Tina Rendini, RN
PH:  (212) 562-6096
email:  tinarendini43@gmail.com
Physical Therapist - Louis Iannuzzi, P.T., C.Ped.
email:  Lni1@nyu.edu

Puerto Rico

San Juan Hansen’s Disease Clinic
University of Puerto Rico
Medical Sciences Campus
School of Medicine - Dept. of Dermatology
P. O. Box 365067
San Juan, PR  00936-5067
PH:   (787) 765-7950
Fax:  (787) 767-0467
Primary Physician - Dr. Pablo Almodovar
email:  dermatol.rcm@upr.edu
Public Health Nurse - Sonia Santos-Exposito, RN, BSN
PH:  (787) 758-2525, Ext. 5503  
email:  sonia.santos@upr.edu

Texas

Dallas County Health & Human Services
2377 N. Stemmons Freeway, Suite 522
Dallas, TX  75207-2710
PH:   (214) 819-2010
Fax:  (214) 819-6095
Physicians - Jack Cohen, DO/Sharon Nations, MD
email  jbcohendo@aol.com
PH:   (817) 753-6633 (private practice)
email:  sharon.nations@utsouthwestern.edu
PH:   (214) 819-2010
Public Health Nurse – Claire Keels, RN
email:  claire.keels@dallascounty.org

Houston Department of Health and Human Services
Northside Health Center
8504 Schuller Street
Houston, TX  77093
PH:   (832) 393-4804
Fax:  (832) 393-5247
Physician - Terry Williams, MD/Steven Mays, MD
email:  Tewill2391@aol.com
PH:   (281) 332-8571
email:  Steven.Mays@uth.tmc.edu
PH:  (713) 500-8329
Public Health Nurse – Barbara Martinez
email: Barbarah.Martinez@houstontx.gov
PH: 832-393-4771  Cell: 713-582-2517
Fax: 832-393-5245

Texas Center for Infectious Disease
2303 S. E. Military Drive
San Antonio, TX  78223
PH:   (210) 531-4526
Fax:  (210) 531-4508
Physician - Adriana Vasquez, MD
PH:  (210) 531-4565
email:  adriana.vasquez@dshs.state.tx.us
Physician - Lynn Horvath, MD
PH:  (210) 531-4524
email:  lynn.horvath@dshs.state.tx.us
Physician - Quatulain F. “Annie” Kizilbash, MD, MPH
PH  (210) 531-4959
email:  quratulain.kizilbash@dshs.state.tx.us
Public Health Nurse - Debbie Mata, RN
PH:    (210) 531-4576
PH:    (210) 531-4295
Cell:  (210) 834-9002
Appointment Secretary: (210) 531-4526
email:  debbie.mata@dshs.state.tx.us

Department of State Health Services Region (HSR) 11
601 W. Sesame Drive
Harlingen, TX  78550
PH:   (956) 423-0130
Fax:  (956) 444-3295
Physician - Richard Wing, MD
email:  richard.wing@dshs.state.tx.us
Public Health Nurse – Melissa Davis, RN
PH:   (956) 423-0130, Ext. 5574
email:  melissaa.davis@dshs.state.tx.us

Washington

Seattle Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Harborview Medical Center
2 West Madison Clinic – 359930, 325 Ninth Avenue
Seattle, WA  98104
PH:   (206) 520-5000 or (206) 744-5113
Toll Free #: 1-877-520-5000
Fax:  (206) 744-5109
Primary Physician - Dr. James Harnisch
email:  jpharnisch@comcast.net
Public Health Nurse – Chinh Tran, RN
email:  tranc@u.washington.edu

Hawaii

In addition, the Hawaii Department of Health operates a clinic independent of the National Hansen’s Disease Programs

Hawaii Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Hawaii State Department of Health
Hansen’s Disease Community Program
3650 Maunalei Avenue
Honolulu, HI  96816
PH:  (808) 733-9831
Fax: (808) 733-9836
Program Manager:  Lori Ching, RN
Direct Line/Voice Mail:  (808) 733-4663
  email:  lori.ching@doh.hawaii.gov

Office Physical Address:
Diamond Head Health Center
3627 Kilauea Avenue Room 102
Honolulu, HI  96816