The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
H H S Department of Health and Human Services
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Health Information Technology and Quality

A-Z Index  |  Questions?  |  Order Publications  |  HRSA Mobile

Meaningful Use Stage 1 Clinical Quality Measures for the Safety Net Community


The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Record Incentive Programs  provide incentive payments to eligible professionals, eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals (CAHs) as they adopt, implement, upgrade or demonstrate meaningful use of certified Electronic Health Records (EHR) technology. One important objective set forth in the Meaningful Use Stage 1 final rule  is that participating eligible professionals (EP) and hospitals store, record, and report clinical quality measures (CQM). 

CMS defines CQM as ”tools that help us measure or quantify healthcare processes, outcomes, patient perceptions, and organizational structure and/or systems that are associated with the ability to provide high-quality health care and/or that relate to one or more quality goals for health care.” This web page is intended to provide technical assistance to safety net providers on the following topic areas related to Meaningful Use Stage 1 CQM:

  1. What is “Meaningful Use”
    • Meaningful Use’s Three Stages
    • Key Principles of Meaningful Use

  2. What are the Meaningful Use Stage 1 Clinical Quality Measures
    • Eligible Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals
    • Eligible Professionals

  3.  How are Meaningful Use Clinical Quality Measures Calculated, Reported, and Attested?
    • How are Meaningful Use Clinical Quality Measures Calculated?
    • CMS’s Electronic Specifications for Reporting Clinical Quality Measures Data
    • Attestation Information for CMS's EHR Medicare Incentive Program

  4. Additional Meaningful Use Clinical Quality Measures Resources and Information
    • Meaningful Use Stage 2 Clinical Quality Measures (proposed)
    • Additional Meaningful Use Technical Resources

In addition, HRSA has conducted several webinars pertaining to Meaningful Use for members of the safety net community. These webinars cover:

To access these and other Health IT and Quality technical resource materials, see the Health IT and Quality webinar portal.