The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
H H S Department of Health and Human Services
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Health Information Technology and Quality

A-Z Index  |  Questions?  |  Order Publications  |  HRSA Mobile

Meaningful Use Stage 2

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services published a final rule on August 23, 2012, that specifies the Stage 2 criteria that eligible professionals (EPs), eligible hospitals (EHs), and critical access hospitals (CAHs) must meet in order to continue to participate in the Medicare & Medicaid Electronic Health Record Incentive Programs. 

If you have note yet participated in Medicare or Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs previously, or if you have never achieved meaningful use under Stage 1 criteria, please visit the CMS EHR Incentive Programs website ( for more information about how to take part of the program. 

There are notable changes in Stage 2 including meeting menu objectives and expanded definition of patient encounters. For example, clinical quality measures are proposed to no longer be a meaningful use core objective, but reporting CQMs is still a requirement for meaningful use. CMS is also extending States’ flexibility with the definition of meaningful use to Stage 2.

Below are resources for Meaningful Use Stage 2:

New CMS Stage 2 Toolkit: Resource for eligible professionals (EPs), eligible hospitals, and critical access hospitals (CAHs) to prepare for Stage 2 of the Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Programs.
Overview Tip Sheet of Meaningful Use Stage 2 (PDF - 680 KB)
HHS Press Release on Meaningful Use Stage 2 Final Rule 
CMS Fact Sheet on Meaningful Use Stage 2