The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
H H S Department of Health and Human Services
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Health Information Technology and Quality

A-Z Index  |  Questions?  |  Order Publications  |  HRSA Mobile

Are the Meaningful Use measures different for Medicare vs. Medicaid?

Meaningful use functional objectives and clinical quality measures do not differ for the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs.  However, States are in charge of the Medicaid Meaningful Use program and are permitted to seek CMS approval to require the four population and public health-related objectives to be core measures, rather than menu set objectives (which would require that providers address these objectives, rather than give them the option).  States are not allowed to set Meaningful Use measures below the standards set in the Final Rule but may require a higher standard at their discretion.    

While the measures are the same for both the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs, Medicaid eligible providers are not required to demonstrate Meaningful Use during their first year of participation, though they must demonstrate Meaningful Use every year after.  (Medicare eligible providers are required to demonstrate Meaningful Use their first year of participation).  

Related Resources:

EHR Incentive Program: Meaningful Use – CMS’ details of Meaningful Use, with an explanation of how the Medicare and Medicaid programs harmonize.

Developed by the Health Resources and Services Administration as a resource for health centers and other safety net and ambulatory care providers who are seeking to implement health IT.
Health Information Technology Toolboxes help health centers, safety net providers, and ambulatory care providers with electronic and online resources and technical assistance to improve patient care.  More>
Stay Informed