The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
H H S Department of Health and Human Services
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Health Information Technology and Quality

A-Z Index  |  Questions?  |  Order Publications  |  HRSA Mobile


Many HRSA grantees and safety net providers have already adopted or are contemplating adopting electronic health record (EHR) technologies.  Under the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act, or the “HITECH Act,” incentive payments are being offered to FQHCs, RHCs, and other Medicare and Medicaid eligible providers  to help them purchase, adopt, upgrade, and implement EHRs and to use them in a meaningful way.  Meaningful Use of EHRs is expected to enhance medical practice efficiency, improve quality of care, promote patient and family engagement in health, and ultimately improve health outcomes.  

This toolkit provides information and resources to help you and your organization participate in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program (also called Meaningful Use) and qualify for these payments.  Other sources are available for those who participate in the Medicare EHR Incentive Program.  If you would like additional information on the Medicare EHR Incentive Program, visit the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ (CMS) EHR Incentive Program website and click on Medicare Eligible Professionals or Medicare Eligible Hospitals.      

This Module:

  • describes the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program
  • explains the requirements for participation in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program
  • outlines the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program’s payments

For each question addressed, this toolkit provides a response and suggests resources that offer additional information.  The toolkit will be updated to reflect new resources and changes or clarifications to the program’s rules.  Only Stage 1 criteria for demonstrating Meaningful Use are included in this toolkit, as Stage 2 and Stage 3 criteria have not yet been decided on by CMS.   Also, the terms “EHR Incentive Program” and “Meaningful Use” are used interchangeably throughout this toolkit.  

The five other modules in this toolkit are organized around the five Meaningful Use health policy priorities:  

  • Improve quality, safety, efficiency, and reduce health disparities
  • Engage patients and families in their healthcare
  • Improve care coordination
  • Ensure adequate privacy and security protections for personal health information
  • Improve population and public health

Each of these health policy priorities include objectives and measures that must be met to demonstrate Meaningful Use.  

Developed by the Health Resources and Services Administration as a resource for health centers and other safety net and ambulatory care providers who are seeking to implement health IT.
Health Information Technology Toolboxes help health centers, safety net providers, and ambulatory care providers with electronic and online resources and technical assistance to improve patient care.  More>
Stay Informed