The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
H H S Department of Health and Human Services
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Health Information Technology and Quality

A-Z Index  |  Questions?  |  Order Publications  |  HRSA Mobile

Will the Meaningful Use objectives and measures change over time?

Yes, CMS expects to update the Meaningful Use criteria every two years.  Stage 1 criteria, announced in the July 28, 2010 Final Rule, apply to 2011 and 2012.  Stage 2 criteria are expected to be announced by the end of 2011 and will build on Stage 1 and apply to incentive payments for years 2013 and 2014.  Its clinical quality measures are expected to have higher thresholds than Stage 1 and greater emphasis on health information exchange across institutions.  Stage 3 criteria, which will expand on Stage 2 criteria, are expected to be announced at the end of 2013 and apply beginning in 2015.   

Related Resources:

EHR Incentive Program: Meaningful Use – CMS’ overview of Meaningful Use and how Meaningful Use will be determined.
Meaningful Use: Overview – ONC’s information on Meaningful Use and rule development.
EHR Incentive Program, Final Rule – Published through the Federal Register, July 28, 2010, this provides an in-depth explanation of Stage 1 program requirements and a summary of the public’s comments on the proposed preliminary regulations.  

Developed by the Health Resources and Services Administration as a resource for health centers and other safety net and ambulatory care providers who are seeking to implement health IT.
Health Information Technology Toolboxes help health centers, safety net providers, and ambulatory care providers with electronic and online resources and technical assistance to improve patient care.  More>
Stay Informed