• Print this
  • Email this



The Council on Graduate Medical Education (COGME) seeks nominations for new members

The legislation provides that the Council shall be composed of 17 members. The Secretary of HHS appoints 14 of these members, and include:

  • representatives of practicing primary care physicians,
  • national and specialty physician organizations,
  • international medical graduates,
  • medical student and house staff associations,
  • schools of medicine and osteopathy,
  • public and private teaching hospitals,
  • health insurers,
  • business, and
  • labor

Federal representatives on the Council include the:

  • Assistant Secretary for Health, HHS;
  • Administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, HHS; and
  • Chief Medical Director of the Department of Veterans Affairs.


Council Members (PDF - 14.7 KB)


Want to be a council member? 



Date Last Reviewed:  September 2018