The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
Department of Health and Human Services
Federal Advisory Committees
  • Print this
  • Email this

Advisory Committees

The Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) of 1972, recognized the merits of seeking the advice and assistance of our nation's citizens. Advisory committees may be established by law, executive order of the President and by agency authority. 

Four committees advise HRSA on health professions policies and programs:

Did You Know?
  • The general public, professional societies, members of Congress, Federal employees, and current and former committee members may nominate candidates for membership.
  • Approximately 1,000 advisory committees serve across the U.S. government, providing counsel that is relevant, objective and open to the public.
  • All four HRSA health professions advisory committees were established by law.