The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
Department of Health and Human Services
The National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services
  • Print this
  • Email this

Agenda: February 18-20, 2009, Washington, D.C.

Sixty-First Meeting of the National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services

The Sofitel Lafayette Park
806 15th Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 730-8800


Wednesday, February 18, 2009

1:00 p.m. Welcome and Introductions

Governor Beasley, Chair

Larry Otis, Vice Chair

1:15 p.m. HHS Welcome

Elizabeth M. Duke, PhD, Administrator, Health Resources and Services Administration or Representative

1:45 p.m. Approval of 2009 Report

2:00 p.m. Introduction of 2010 Topics and Work Plan

Jennifer Chang, Executive Secretary

2:15 p.m. Health Care Provider Integration

Chandra Branham, Esq., Associate, Arnold & Porter, LLP

3:15 p.m. Break

3:30 p.m. HHS Role and Health Workforce

Marcia K. Brand, PhD, Associate Administrator for Health Professions, Health Resources and Services Administration

4:15 p.m. Primary Care Workforce, Key Provider Groups

Daniel J. Ostergaard, MD, Vice President for Professional Activities, American Academy of Family Physicians

Shawn Martin, Director of Government Relations, American Osteopathic Association

Jan Towers, PhD, NP-C, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP, Director of Health Policy, American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

Sandy Harding, Director, Federal Affairs, American Academy of Physician Assistants

5:15 p.m. Public Comment


Thursday, February 19, 2009

9:00 a.m. Opening of Meeting

Governor Beasley, Chair

Jennifer Chang, Executive Secretary

9:15 a.m. Partner Perspectives on Topics

Joanna L. Hiatt, Senior Associate Director, Policy, American Hospital Association

9:30 a.m. Home-Based Care Options for Rural Seniors

John Wren, MPA, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy & Management, Administration on Aging

Gale Arden, Director, Public Programs, Research & Planning, Federal Programs, Blue Cross/Blue Shield, Tennessee

Wayne H. Giles, MD, MS, Director, Division of Adult and Community Health, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, CDC

11:00 a.m. Break

11:15 a.m. Home-Based Care Options for Rural Seniors

Sandy Markwood, Chief Executive Officer, National Association of Area Agencies on Aging

Virginia Dize, Assistant Director, National Center on Senior Transportation

Noon Discussion

12:15 p.m. Lunch

1:15 p.m. Partner Perspectives on Topics

Alan Morgan, Chief Executive Officer, National Rural Health Association

John Sawyer, Director, Federal Affairs, Federal and State Affairs, National Association of Community Health Centers

Bill Finerfrock, Executive Director, National Association of Rural Health Clinics

Jocelyn Richgels, Associate Director, National Policy Programs, Rural Policy Research Institute

2:30 p.m. Public Comment

2:45 p.m. Selection of Subcommittees

3:00 p.m. Break

3:15 p.m. Depart for Subcommittee Meetings


Friday, February 20, 2009

8:45 a.m. Opening of Meeting

Larry Otis, Vice Chair

9:00 a.m. Report outs from Subcommittees: Findings and Instructions to Staff

10:00 a.m. Letter to Secretary

10:15 a.m. Call for Public Comment