AIDS Drug Assistance Program (ADAP) Emergency Relief Funds (ERF)

Announcement Number:


Date(s) to Apply:
06/25/2018 to 10/25/2018

Estimated Award Date:

What is the program?

This notice solicits applications for the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program (RWHAP) Part B AIDS Drug Assistance Program (ADAP) Emergency Relief Funds (ERF). The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) HIV/AIDS Bureau (HAB), Division of State HIV/AIDS Programs (DSHAP) administers this program.

ADAP ERF awards are intended for states/territories that demonstrate the need for additional resources to prevent, reduce, or eliminate ADAP waiting lists, including through cost-containment measures (for example, the provision of health insurance assistance). HRSA will base ADAP awards upon applicants’ ability to successfully demonstrate need for additional funding. An external objective review committee (ORC) will evaluate this need based on criteria published in this notice of funding opportunity (NOFO), with priority given to addressing existing waiting lists.

HRSA first funded the ERF initiative in August 2010, when numerous states/territories were experiencing ADAP waiting lists. At the time of publication of this NOFO, there are no ADAP waiting lists. HRSA continues to provide funding under this initiative to maintain infrastructure in those states/territories that had previously imposed waiting lists, and to ensure that no new waiting lists are established. States/territories that have not reported an existing waiting list to HRSA must do so immediately and use funding awarded under this NOFO to remove clients from the waiting list.

Applicants are encouraged to consider how their proposed activities with the ADAP ERF funding support HRSA’s emphasis on innovation, collaboration, impact, and effectiveness.

Are you eligible?

Eligible applicants are limited to RWHAP Part B states/territories that reported to HRSA a new ADAP waiting list or who have used the ADAP ERF to prevent, reduce, or eliminate an ADAP waiting list between January 2011 and July 2018.

All 50 States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands are eligible to apply for funding if they meet the above requirement.

States/territories that did not report to HRSA a new ADAP waiting list or use the ADAP ERF to prevent, reduce, or eliminate an ADAP waiting list between January 2011 and July 2018 are not eligible to apply.


Contact Us

Rene Sterling

Phone: (301) 443-9017

Track Your Application

Use our track application tool

Accessibility Disclaimer

If you use assistive technology, you may not be able to access information in these files. For help, contact EHB Customer Support Center at 1-877-464-4772 (Option 1).