Advanced Nursing Education - Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (ANE-SANE) Program

HRSA-18-119 | Bureau of Health Workforce

Application Accepted: 06/14/2018 to 07/26/2018

Projected Award Date: 09/30/2018

Estimated Award Amount: N/A

Estimated Number of Awards:N/A

Program Description:

The purpose of the ANE-SANE funding is to provide advanced nurse education to increase the number of Registered Nurses (RNs), Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs[1]) and Forensic Nurses who are trained and certified as sexual assault nurse examiners (SANEs) in communities on a local, regional and/or state level.  Ideal applicants will have the infrastructure to recruit eligible nurses, coordinate didactic and clinical training with identified partners, monitor and track experiential learning hours and certification completion, and have demonstrated strategies for creating communities of practice that can retain SANEs in the health workforce.  The goal of this program to train providers to conduct sexual assault forensic examinations which provide better physical and mental health care for survivors, better evidence collection, and higher prosecution rates. [1] Advanced Practice Registered Nurses includes Nurse Practitioners, Certified Nurse Midwives and Nurse Anesthetists.

Additional Eligibility

Eligible applicants include accredited schools of nursing, nursing centers, nurse-managed health clinics, academic health centers, State or local health departments,  Rural Health Clinics, public or non-profit Hospitals, other emergency health care service providers, Federally Qualified Health Centers, Clinics receiving funding under Title X and other relevant public or private non-profit entities.  Federally recognized Indian Tribal Government and Native American Organizations, as well as nonprofit (Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 501(c)(3) status) community-based and faith-based organizations may apply if they are otherwise eligible.   The eligible state government entities include the 50 states, and the District of Columbia, Guam, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau. Individuals and foreign entities are not eligible under this NOFO.

Contact Us

Adanna Agbo

Phone: 301-443-2605