• Print this
  • Email this


The legislation provides that the Council shall be composed of 17 members. Fourteen of these members are appointed by the Secretary of HHS and include:

  • representatives of practicing primary care physicians,
  • national and specialty physician organizations,
  • international medical graduates,
  • medical student and house staff associations,
  • schools of medicine and osteopathy,
  • public and private teaching hospitals,
  • health insurers,
  • business, and
  • labor

Federal representatives on the Council include the:

  • Assistant Secretary for Health, HHS;
  • Administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, HHS; and
  • Chief Medical Director of the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Council Members (PDF - 14.7 KB)
Want to be a council member? (PDF - 199 KB)

Date Last Reviewed:  May 2018