The javascript used on this site for creative design effects is not supported by your browser. Please note that this will not affect access to the content on this web site.
Skip Navigation
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Health Resources and Services Administration
  • YouTube
  • HRSA eNews
  • Print this
  • Email this

Oral Health Coordinating Committee

The United States Public Health Service (USPHS) ’s Oral Health Coordinating Committee (OHCC), with representatives from HHS and other federal agencies, directs and coordinates a broad range of oral health policy, research, and programs within the USPHS, across federal agencies, and between the public and private sectors.

To both increase the public's understanding that oral health is essential to overall health and to leverage partnerships to achieve better health for all people, the OHCC created the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Oral Health Strategic Framework 2014–2017 (PDF – 3 MB).

The published Framework’s strategies and key activities align to five major goals:

  1. Integrate oral health and primary health care
  2. Prevent disease and promote oral health
  3. Increase access to oral health care and eliminate disparities
  4. Increase the dissemination of oral health information and improve health literacy
  5. Advance oral health in public policy and research

OHCC Members

Administration for Children and Families
Marco Beltran, DrPH
Head Start Program Specialist
Office of Head Start
Contact: 202-205-7844 | marco.beltran@ACF.hhs.gov

Rochelle Rollins, PhD, MPH
Senior Advisor Human Trafficking
Office on Trafficking in Persons
Contact: 202-690-5782 | rochelle.rollins@acf.hhs.gov

Administration for Community Living
Phantane J. Sprowls, MPA
Program Analyst
Administration on Aging
Contact: 202-795-7443 | phantane.sprowls@acl.hhs.gov

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Richard J. Manski, DDS, MBA, PhD
Senior Scholar
Center for Financing, Access and Cost Trends
Contact: 301-427-1676 | richard.manski@ahrq.gov

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Katherine Weno, DDS, JD
Director, Division of Oral Health
National Center for Chronic Disease
Prevention and Health Promotion
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Contact: 770-488-6071 | kweno@cdc.gov

Gina Thornton-Evans, DDS, MPH
Dental Officer
Division of Oral Health
Contact: 770-488-5503 | gdt4@cdc.gov

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Lynn Douglas Mouden, DDS, MPH
Chief Dental Officer
Contact: 410-786-4126 | lynn.mouden@cms.hhs.gov

Laurie Norris, JD
Senior Policy Advisor and Coordinator
CMS Oral Health Initiative
Division of Quality, Evaluation, and Health Outcomes
Contact: 410-786-6543 | laurie.norris@cms.hhs.gov

Food and Drug Administration
Gail Cherry-Peppers, DDS, MS
CAPT, USPHS
Center for Tobacco Products
Office of Science
Contact: 301-796-7379 | gail.cherry-peppers@fda.hhs.gov

Frederick Hyman, DDS, MPH
Dental Officer
Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
Division of Dermatology and Dental Products
Contact: 301-796-0922 | fred.hyman@fda.hhs.gov

Health Resources and Services
Renée Joskow, DDS, MPH, FAGD
CAPT, USPHS
Senior Dental Advisor
Contact: 301-443-6769 | rjoskow@hrsa.gov

Indian Health Service
Nathan Mork, DDS, MPH
CDR, USPHS
Staff Dentist
Bemidji Area Dental Field Consultant
Contact: 218-983-6254 | nathan.mork@ihs.gov

National Institutes of Health/
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research

Margo R. Adesanya, DDS, MPH
Chief, Science Policy and Planning Branch
Office of Science Policy and Analysis
Contact: 301-594-7553 | margo.adesanya@nih.gov

Bruce A. Dye, DDS, MPH
CAPT, USPHS
Dental Epidemiology Officer
Director, Residency Program in Dental Public Health
Contact: 301-496-7765 | bruce.dye@nih.gov

OS/
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation

Jessica O’Hara
Contact: 202-260-0362 | jessica.o’hara@hhs.gov

OS/Office of Minority Health
Tracy Branch, MPAS, PA-C
CDR, USPHS
Public Health Advisor
Contact: 240-453-6157 | tracy.branch@hhs.gov

OASH/Office on Women’s Health
Mary E. Worstell, MPH
Senior Advisor
Office of Women’s Health
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
Contact: 202-401-6998 | mary.worstell@hhs.gov

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Edwin M. Craft, DrPH, MEd, LCPC 
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment
Contact: 240-276-1571 | ed.craft@samhsa.hhs.gov

On Detail from HHS

U.S. Coast Guard
David Lunduhl, DDS
CAPT, USPHS
USCG Chief Dental Officer (CG-1122)
USCG Headquarters
Contact: 202-475-5180 | david.k.lundahl@uscg.mil

Federal Bureau of Prisons
Nicholas S. Makrides, DMD, MPH (Chair)
RADM, USPHS
Chief Dentist
Contact: 202-353-4728 | nmakrides@bop.gov