Advisory Committees

HRSA's Federal Advisory Committees are established to advise or make recommendations on matters relating to the programs, responsibilities, or activities of the Department of Health and Human Services. The Federal Advisory Committee Act (P.L. 92-463) defines what constitutes a Federal advisory committee and provides general procedures to follow for the operation of advisory committees.  In addition, FACA is designed to assure that the Congress and the public are kept informed with respect to the purpose, membership, and activities of advisory committees.

Each Advisory Committee is managed by a Designated Federal Official who is responsible for the Committee's management and administrative matters. 

Health Workforce

Inactive Committee

Maternal and Child Health


Rural Health and Migrant Health




* indicates a discretionary advisory committee authorized by statute; all others are non-discretionary advisory committees mandated by statute.


Date Last Reviewed:  March 2017