COGME leadership

Dr. Peter HollmanDr. Peter Hollmann, M.D., Chair

Dr. Hollmann is a physician specializing in geriatric primary care and has served as the Associate Chief Medical Officer for Blue Cross Blue Shield of Rhode Island. His experience covers multiple insurance products, including a commercial Preferred Provider Organization, a Medicaid plan, and a Medicare product. His work has also focused on quality improvement, program and practice transformation, and evaluation. In addition, he has in-depth experience with data-driven quality improvement and clinical performance measurement development at the local and national level. Dr. Hollmann is the Chief Medical Officer for Brown Medicine. He co-chairs the Rhode Island multi-payer Patient-Centered Medical Home Collaborative Data and Evaluation Committee; is a member of the Resource-Based Relative Value Scale Update Committee; and is a past Chair of the Current Procedural Terminology Editorial Panel. His clinical and administrative experiences span several levels of geriatric clinical care. With his senior executive experience and expertise in health insurance products, practice transformation, and data-driven performance evaluation, Dr. Hollmann will inform the Council’s work as a healthcare business representative.

Dr. Erin P. FraherErin P. Fraher, Ph.D., M.P.P., Immediate Past COGME Chair

Erin P. Fraher, Ph.D., M.P.P. is an Associate Professor (with tenure) in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s School of Medicine. Dr. Fraher directs the HRSA-funded Carolina Health Workforce Research Center. The Center’s mission is to provide the evidence needed to redesign health workforce training, deployment, and regulation in a rapidly changing health care system. Dr. Fraher is internationally recognized for her efforts to improve workforce projection methodologies and investigate ways that states, and the federal government, can better use graduate medical education funding to drive workforce outcomes, foster transparency, and increase accountability. Her recent work focuses on understanding the workforce implications of new care delivery and payment models. Dr. Fraher’s research is interprofessional, spanning medicine, nursing, social work, pharmacy, dentistry, mental health, allied health, and the direct care workforce. While Dr. Fraher has published extensively in peer-reviewed journals, her ability to produce policy briefs, fact sheets, and interactive data visualizations has enabled her work to have broad impact. She has a BA in Economics/Spanish from Wellesley College, a Master of Public Policy (M.P.P.) from the University of California at Berkeley, and a Ph.D. in Health Policy and Management from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Appointed members

The legislation dictates that the Council consist of 18 members.

The Secretary of HHS appoints 14 of these members. This includes representatives of:

  • Practicing primary care physicians
  • National and specialty physician organizations
  • International medical graduates
  • Medical student and house staff associations
  • Schools of medicine and schools of osteopathic medicine
  • Public and private teaching hospitals
  • Health insurers
  • Business
  • Labor

Federal representatives

The authorizing legislation dictates that the Council include the following four federal representatives or their designees:

  • Assistant Secretary for Health, HHS
  • Administrator of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, HHS
  • Administrator of the Health Resources and Services Administration, HHS
  • Chief Medical Director of the Department of Veterans Affairs
Date Last Reviewed: