ACTPCMD Leadership

Tonya Fancher, MD, MPHTonya Fancher, M.D., M.P.H.

Dr. Fancher is Professor of General Internal Medicine, Associate Dean of Workforce Innovation and Education Quality Improvement, and Director of the Center for a Diverse Healthcare Workforce. For the past 20 years, she has worked in UME and GME to create inclusion pathways that address workforce shortages in medically underserved communities. She has been principal investigator (PI) or co-PI on grants from HRSA and from the American Medical Association to create California’s first 3-year MD accelerated pathway and a regional collaborative with OHSU to address physician shortages in rural, tribal, urban areas and communities between Sacramento and Portland. Dr. Fancher serves on the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education’s DEI Advisory Committee and studies challenges and solutions to inequities in medical education. After completing a primary care general internal medicine residency at NYU and Bellevue Hospital, Dr. Fancher spent four years in the US Air Force stationed at Travis Air Force Base. She graduated from Cornell University where she majored in Classics and in Biology. She is mom to a 13 year-old cattle dog, Sydney.

Appointed Members

ACTPCMD consists of up to 14 members appointed by the Secretary of Health and Human Services for terms of up to three years. By legislation and Charter, the ACTPCMD is comprised of a fair balance of health professionals that represent both urban and rural areas, with an adequate representation of women and minorities. Members are appointed based on their competence, interest, and knowledge of the following primary care health professions and disciplines:

  • Family Medicine
  • General Internal Medicine
  • General Pediatrics
  • Preventive Medicine
  • Physician assistants
  • General Dentistry
  • Pediatric Dentistry
  • Public Health Dentistry
  • Dental Hygiene

Membership Roster

Membership Roster (PDF - 19 KB)

Date Last Reviewed: