Critical Access Hospitals


Critical Access Hospitals are designated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The defining legislation is Section 1820(c)(2) of the Social Security Act. For more information, see Critical Access Hospitals Fact Sheet (PDF - 93 KB).

To be eligible to participate in the 340B Drug Pricing Program, Critical Access Hospitals must meet the requirements of 42 USC 256b(a)(4)(L)(i).

Date Last Reviewed:  May 2018

Registration Now

Register Start Date
January 1-15 April 1
April 1-15 July 1
July 1-15 October 1
October 1-15 January 1

Eligible in Multiple Categories

Hospitals that are eligible to participate in the 340B Drug Pricing Program in more than one category may select one. For example, a hospital that is both as a Disproportionate Share Hospital and a Sole Community Hospital may choose either type of eligibility and must abide by requirements and guidelines for that type of eligible organization/covered entity once enrolled.

Additional Resources