HRSA recognizes champions of rural health

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Health Resources and Services Administration
February 28, 2018

Today, the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) acknowledged seven rural organizations from across the nation as champions in providing high-quality access to health care in rural communities.

“Rural organizations are well positioned to deliver effective and innovative care to their communities, impacting some of the most vulnerable populations,” said HRSA Administrator George Sigounas, MS, Ph.D. “These organizations are an essential part of the health care system because they understand their local communities, are able to fill significant health care gaps and ultimately improve the quality of life for those living in rural America.”

The seven awardees were specifically recognized for their work in developing and implementing innovative strategies; adopting evidence-based/promising practice models; leading sustainable advancements in increasing access to health care; and improving health care quality within rural communities. The champions also exhibited success in disseminating their lessons learned beyond local audiences and exhibiting leadership through mentoring, coaching and partnerships.

Funding for these rural community-based programs is authorized by Section 330A(e) of the Public Health Service (PHS) Act (42 U.S.C. 254c(e), Public Law 115-31, as amended to “promote rural health care services outreach by expanding the delivery of health care services to include new and enhanced services in rural areas.”  Recognition was given to organizations providing a range of services, including health care access, health professional trainings, care coordination and health promotion.

For more information, contact the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy at; FORHP Community-Based Division,

2018 Rural Health Champions
Champion of Information Dissemination
Tri-County Health Network (Telluride, CO)
Champion of Impact
Chautauqua County Health Network (Jamestown, NY)
Champion of Sustainability
Clallam County Public Hospital District # 1 (Forks, WA)
Champion of Creative Partnerships 
Arkansas Rural Health Partnership (Lake Village, AR)
Champion of Innovation in Health Care Delivery
Families Plus (Delta, CO)
Champion of Evidence-Based Promising Practice Model
Bay Rivers Telehealth Alliance (Tappahannock, VA)
Champion of Leadership
The Health Enrichment Network (Oakdale, LA)
Date Last Reviewed:  February 2018