Hansen's Disease Ambulatory Care Clinics

Individuals living in the continental United States, Puerto Rico, or other U.S. territories may receive medical care for the diagnosis and treatment of Hansen's disease (leprosy)-related conditions at one of the federally-supported outpatient clinics throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.

Phone 1-800-642-2477, weekdays 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. ET for referral to one of 900 private physicians nationwide who have expertise in treating Hansen's disease (leprosy) (Hawaii: 1-808-733-9831).

Services

  • Confirmation of diagnosis through skin biopsies
  • Medical care
  • Medications
  • Hospitalization for treatment of complications at the Ochsner Medical Center - Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Clinical consultation for physician-referred patients with eye problems and those in need of reconstructive hand or foot surgery
  • Professional and patient education materials and conferences

Clinics

California

LOS ANGELES HD CLINIC
LAC+USC Medical Center
1100 North Start St. Clinic Tower A5B123
Los Angeles, CA 90033
  PH: (323) 409-5240
  Fax: (323) 441-8152
Primary Physician/Dermatology - Dr. Maria T. Ochoa
 Email: maria.ochoa@med.usc.edu
Public Health Nurse – Jeffrey Phommasith, RN
email: jphommasith@dhs.lacounty.gov
Telephone: (323) 409-5240

Florida

MIAMI HD CLINIC
Jackson Memorial Hospital
1611 N.W. 12th Avenue ACC East – 2nd Floor
Department of Dermatology
Miami, FL 33136-1096
  PH: (305) 585-2511 / (305) 585-7348
  Fax: (305) 355-2155 / (305) 585-6397
Primary Physician - Dr. Anne Burdick
  email: Aburdick@med.miami.edu
Public Health Nurse – Miriam Guadamuz
  email: miriam.guadamuz@jhsmiami.org
  Telephone: (305) 585 -1111

New York

NEW YORK HD CLINIC
Bellevue Hospital Center
Department of Dermatology
462 First Avenue, Room 17-N-7
New York, NY 10016
   PH: (212) 562-5670
   Fax: (212) 263-6423
Primary Physician - Dr. William Levis
   email: doctorwilliamlevis@gmail.com
Public Health Nurse – Tina Rendini, RN
   email: tina.rendini@nychhc.org
  Telephone: (212) 562-6096

Puerto Rico

SAN JUAN HD CLINIC  
University of Puerto Rico
Medical Sciences Campus
School of Medicine - Dept. of Dermatology
P. O. Box 365067
San Juan, PR 00936-5067
   PH: (787) 765-7950
   Fax: (787) 767-0467
Primary Physician - Dr. Aida L. Quintero Noriega
   email: dermatol.rcm@upr.edu
   email: aida.quintero@upr.edu
Public Health Nurse - Sonia Santos-Exposito, RN,
   email: sonia.santos@upr.edu
   Telephone: (787) 758-2525, Ext. 5503

Texas

TEXAS HD CLINICS Headquarters
Department of State Health Services 
Hansens Disease Program
P. O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1939
Austin, TX 78714-9347
   PH: (800) 252-8239
   Fax: (512) 365-7824
Nurse Consultant: Elizabeth Foy, RN, BSN
   email: Elizabeth.foy@dshs.state.tx.us
   Telephone: (512) 533-3144

Denton County Public Health
Denton Office
535 S. Loop 288, Ste. 1003
Denton, TX 76205
   PH: (940) 349-2900
   Fax: (877) 865-2587
Primary Physician – Dr. Javed Akram
   email:  Javed.Akram@dentoncounty.com
Public Health Nurse – Felicia Hopkins, RN
   email: Felicia.Hopkins@dentoncounty.com
   Telephone: (972) 434-4706

Bay Area Dermatology Associates
Webster Office (Primary Office)
#12 Professional Park
Webster, Texas 77598
   PH: (281) 332-8571
   Fax: (281) 332-8307
Primary Physician: Dr. Terry Williams
   email: Tewill2391@aol.com

UT Physician Dermatology –
Texas Medical Center

Houston Office (Primary office)
Houston Med. Cnt. Professional Bldg.
6655 Travis, Ste. 700
Houston, Texas 77030
   PH: (713) 500-8260
   Fax: (713) 524-3432
Primary Physician: Dr. Steve Mays
   email: Steve.Mays@uth.tmc.edu

Texas Center for Infectious Disease
2303 S. E. Military Drive
San Antonio, TX 78223
   PH: (210) 531-4526
   Fax: (210) 531-4508
Primary Physician - Dr. Adriana Vasquez
   email: adriana.vasquez@dshs.texas.gov
Public Health Nurse - Debbie Mata, RN
   email: debbie.mata@dshs.texas.gov
   Telephone: (210) 531-4576

Additional HD clinics in the State of Texas

Date Last Reviewed:  August 2018