Hansen's Disease Ambulatory Care Clinics

Individuals living in the continental United States, Puerto Rico, or other U.S. territories may receive medical care for the diagnosis and treatment of Hansen's disease (leprosy)-related conditions at one of the federally-supported outpatient clinics throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.

Phone 1-800-642-2477, weekdays 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. ET for referral to one of 900 private physicians nationwide who have expertise in treating Hansen's disease (leprosy) (Hawaii: 1-808-733-9831).

Services

  • Confirmation of diagnosis through skin biopsies
  • Medical care
  • Medications
  • Hospitalization for treatment of complications at the Ochsner Medical Center - Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Clinical consultation for physician-referred patients with eye problems and those in need of reconstructive hand or foot surgery
  • Professional and patient education materials and conferences

Clinics

Arizona

Phoenix Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Maricopa County Health Department
1645 East Roosevelt Street
Phoenix, Arizona 85006
PH: 602-372-2039
Fax: 602-372-3862
Primary Physician - Dr. Ronald Pust
Tucson Office: 520 626-5650
Cell: 520-668-6441
email: rpust@email.arizona.edu
Public Health Nurse – Brenda Cabrales, RN
PH: 602-372-2039
email: brendacabrales@mail.maricopa.gov

Arkansas

Springdale Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Dr. Joseph H. Bates Outreach Clinic of Washington County
614 E. Emma Avenue, Suite 247
Springdale, AR 72764
PH: 479-751-3630
Fax: 479-751-4838
Primary Physician: Linda McGhee, MD
PH: 479-521-0263
PH: 479-973-8450 office
email: lmcghee@uams.edu
Public Health Nurse - Sandy Hainline Williams, RN
PH: 479-751-3630
Cell: 479-422-0190
email: sandra.hainline@arkansas.gov

California

Los Angeles Hansen’s Disease Clinic
LAC+USC Medical Center
1200 N. State St.
Clinic Tower A5B123
Los Angeles, CA 90033
PH: 323-409-5240
Fax: 323-441-8152
Primary Physician - Dr. Maria T. Ochoa
email: maria.ochoa@med.usc.edu
PH: 323-226-3373
Public Health Nurse - Barbara Tang, RN
email: batang@dhs.lacounty.gov

Martinez Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Contra Costa Regional Medical Center
Outpatient Specialty Clinic
2500 Alhambra Avenue
Martinez, CA 94553
PH: 925-370-5868
Fax: 925-370-5529
Primary Physicians - Sonia Sutherland, MD
email: ssutherland@hsd.co.contra-costa.ca.us
PH: 925-370-5867
Ken Saffier, MD
PH: 925-370-5200 ext. 4743
Public Health Nurse – Jason Andal, RN
PH: 925-370-5868
email: Jason.Andal@hsd.cccounty.us
Community Health Worker – Lucila Rubalcava
email: lucila.rubalcava@hsd.cccounty.us

San Diego Hansen’s Disease Clinic
HHSA, North Central Regional Center
5055 Ruffin Road, Mail Stop: N-513
San Diego, CA 92123
PH: 858-573-7320
Fax: 858-573-7325
Primary Physician - Dr. Erik O. Gilbertson
email: erik.gilbertson@sdcounty.ca.gov
Public Health Nurse – Krisanto Equipado, RN
email: krisanto.equipado@sdcounty.ca.gov
PH: 858-573-7320

Florida

Miami Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Jackson Memorial Hospital
1611 N.W. 12th Avenue
ACC East – 2nd Floor
Department of Dermatology
Miami, FL 33136-1096
PH: 305-585-2511 / 305-585-7348
Fax: 305-585-6397 / 305)585-6397
Primary Physician - Dr. Anne Burdick
email: Aburdick@med.miami.edu
Public Health Nurse - Lourdes Barquin, RN
email: LBarquin@jhsmiami.org

Georgia

Atlanta Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Emory Mid-Town Hospital
550 Peachtree Street NE
7th Floor MOT
Atlanta, GA 30308
PH: 404-686-5885
Fax: 404-686-4508
Primary Physicians – Dr. Jessica Fairley
email: jessica.fairley@emory.edu
PH: 404-686-5885
Public Health Nurse
PH: 404-320-6662
PH: 404-686-7668

Illinois

Chicago Hansen’s Disease Clinic
University of Illinois
College of Medicine at Chicago
Department of Dermatology, MC 624)
808 S. Wood, RM 376 CME
Chicago, IL 60612
PH: 312-996-0734 Ext 7348
Fax: 312-355-0870
Primary Physician - Dr. Carlotta Hill
email: chhill@uic.edu
Public Health Nurse – Yusuf Adegoke, RN
email: yadegoke@uic.edu

Massachusetts

Boston Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Lahey Medical Center
41 Mall Road
Burlington, MA 01805
PH: 781-744-5670
Fax: 781-744-5687
Primary Physician - Dr. Julia Benedetti
email: Julia.benedetti@lahey.org
PH: 781-744-8444
Public Health Nurse - Ms. Stephanie Burns, RN, D.N.C.
email: stephanie.a.burns@lahey.org
PH: 781-744-5670

New York

New York Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Bellevue Hospital Center
Department of Dermatology
462 First Avenue, Room 17-N-7
New York, NY 10016
PH: 212-562-5670
Fax: 212-263-6423
Physician - Dr. William Levis
email: william_levis@yahoo.com
Physician - Dr. Miriam Pomeranz
email: Miriam.pomeranz@nyumc.org
Public Health Nurse – Tina Rendini, RN
PH: 212-562-6096
email: tina.rendini@bellevue.nychc.org

Puerto Rico

San Juan Hansen’s Disease Clinic
University of Puerto Rico
Medical Sciences Campus
School of Medicine - Dept. of Dermatology
P. O. Box 365067
San Juan, PR 00936-5067
PH: 787-765-7950
Fax: 787-767-0467
Primary Physician - Dr. Aida L. Quintero Noriega
email: dermatol.rcm@upr.edu
Public Health Nurse - Sonia Santos-Exposito, RN, BSN
PH: 787-758-2525, Ext. 5503
email: sonia.santos@upr.edu

Texas

Denton County Public Health
535 S. Loop 288, Ste 1003
Denton, TX  76205
PH: 940-349-2900
FAX: 877-865-2587
401 North Valley Parkway, Ste 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
PH: 972-434-4700
FAX: 877-586-3454
Physician - Javed Akram, MD
PH: 940-349-2911
email: javed.akram@dentoncounty.com
Public Health Nurse - Felicia Hopkins, RN, BSN
PH: 972-434-4706
email: felicia.hopkins@dentoncounty.com

Houston Department of Health and Human Services
Northside Health Center
8504 Schuller Street
Houston, TX 77093
PH: 832-393-4804
Fax: 832-393-5247
Physician - Terry Williams, MD/Steven Mays, MD
email: Tmwill3502@aol.com
PH: 281-332-8571
email: Steven.Mays@uth.tmc.edu
PH: 713-500-8329
Public Health Nurse – Barbarah Martinez, RN
email: Barbarah.Martinez@houstontx.gov
PH: 832-393-4771

Texas Center for Infectious Disease
2303 S. E. Military Drive
San Antonio, TX 78223
PH: 210-531-4526
Fax: 210-531-4508
Physician - Adriana Vasquez, MD
PH: 210-531-4565
email: adriana.vasquez@dshs.state.tx.us
Public Health Nurse - Debbie Mata, RN
PH: 210-531-4576
PH: 210-531-4295
Appointment Secretary: 210-531-4526
email: debbie.mata@dshs.state.tx.us
Appointment Secretary: Betty Velaquaz
PH: 210-531-4526
email: betty.velaquaz@dshs.texas.gov

Department of State Health Services Region (HSR) 11
601 W. Sesame Drive
Harlingen, TX 78550
PH: 956-423-0130
Fax: 956-444-3295
Public Health Nurse – Melissa Davis, RN
PH: 956-423-0130, Ext. 5574
email: melissa.davis@dshs.texas.gov

Washington

Seattle Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Harborview Medical Center
2 West Madison Clinic – 325 Ninth Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
PH: 206-520-5000 or 206-744-5113
Toll Free #: 1-877-520-5000
Fax: 206-744-5174
Primary Physician - Dr. James Harnisch
email: jpharnisch@comcast.net
Public Health Nurse – Chinh Tran, RN
email: tranc@u.washington.edu
PH: 206-744-2212

Hawaii

In addition, the Hawaii Department of Health operates a clinic independent of the National Hansen’s Disease Programs.

Hawaii Hansen’s Disease Clinic
Hawaii State Department of Health
Hansen’s Disease Community Program
3650 Maunalei Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96816
PH: 808-733-9831
Fax: 808-733-9836
Program Manager: Lori Ching, RN
Direct Line/Voice Mail: 808-733-4663
email: lori.ching@doh.hawaii.gov

Office Physical Address:
Diamond Head Health Center
3627 Kilauea Avenue Room 102
Honolulu, HI 96816

 

 

Date Last Reviewed:  September 2017