Hansen's Disease Ambulatory Care Clinics

Individuals living in the continental United States, Puerto Rico, or other U.S. territories may receive medical care for the diagnosis and treatment of Hansen's disease (leprosy)-related conditions at one of the federally-supported outpatient clinics throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.

Phone 1-800-642-2477, weekdays 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. ET for referral to one of 900 private physicians nationwide who have expertise in treating Hansen's disease (leprosy) (Hawaii: 1-808-733-9831).

Services

  • Confirmation of diagnosis through skin biopsies
  • Medical care
  • Medications
  • Clinical consultation for patients with Hansen's disease related eye, hand, and foot problems
  • Professional and patient education materials and conferences

The Ambulatory Clinics manage patients with hand and foot problems that do not require reconstructive surgery

Clinics

ATLANTA HD CLINIC
Emory TravelWell Center
550 Peachtree St. NE,
7th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30308
PH:   (404) 686-5885
Fax:  (404) 686-4508
Physicians – Dr. Jessica Fairley
email: jessica.fairley@emory.edu
Public Health Nurse: Jennifer Breiman, RN
email: jennifer.breiman@emoryhealthcare.org

 

BOSTON HD CLINIC
Lahey Medical Center
41 Mall Road
Burlington, MA 01805
PH:   (781) 744-5670
Fax:  (781) 744-5687
Physician - Dr. Julia Benedetti
email: julia.benedetti@lahey.org
Public Health Nurse - Stephanie Burns, RN, D.N.C.
email: stephanie.a.burns@lahey.org
Telephone: (781) 744-5670

 

CHICAGO HD CLINIC
University of Illinois at Chicago
Outpatient Care Center (OCC)
1801 W. Taylor Street, Suite 3E
Chicago, IL 60612
PH:   (312) 996-8667
Fax:  (312) 966-1188
Physician - Dr. Carlotta Hill
email: chhill@uic.edu
Public Health Nurse Yusuf Adegoke, RN
email: yadegoke@uic.edu
Telephone: (312) 996-0734

 

LOS ANGELES HD CLINIC
LAC+USC Medical Center
1100 North Start St. Clinic Tower A5B123
Los Angeles, CA 90033
PH:   (323) 409-5240
Fax:  (323) 441-8152
Primary Physician/Dermatology - Dr. Maria T. Ochoa
Email: maria.ochoa@med.usc.edu
Public Health Nurse – Jeffrey Phommasith, RN
email: jphommasith@dhs.lacounty.gov
Telephone: (323) 409-5240

 

MIAMI HD CLINIC
Jackson Memorial Hospital
1611 N.W. 12th Avenue ACC East – 2nd Floor
Department of Dermatology
Miami, FL 33136-1096
PH:   (305) 585-2511 / (305) 585-7348
Fax:  (305) 355-2155 / (305) 585-6397
Primary Physician - Dr. Anne Burdick
email: Aburdick@med.miami.edu
Public Health Nurse –Miriam Guadamuz, RN
email: miriam.guadamuz@jhsmiami.org
Telephone: (305) -585 -1111
Telephone: (305) 585-2511 Ext. 354026

 

NEW YORK HD CLINIC
Bellevue Hospital Center
Department of Dermatology
462 First Avenue, Room 17-N-7
New York, NY 10016
PH:   (212) 562-5670
Fax:  (212) 263-6423
Primary Physician - Dr. William Levis
email: doctorwilliamlevis@gmail.com
Public Health Nurse – Tina Rendini, RN
email: tina.rendini@nychhc.org
Telephone: (212) 562-6096

 

PHOENIX HD CLINIC
Wesley Community Center Inc.
1300 South 10th Street
Phoenix, Arizona 85034-4516
PH:   (602) 372-2039
Fax:  (602) 372-3862
Primary Physician - Dr. Ronald Pust
email: rpusta@email.arizona.edu
Tucson Office: (520) 626-5650
Public Health Nurse – Lisa Carranza, RN
email: lcarranza@wccphx.net
Telephone: (602) 257-4323

 

SAN JUAN HD CLINIC
University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences Campus
School of Medicine - Dept. of Dermatology
P. O. Box 365067
San Juan, PR 00936-5067
PH: (787) 765-7950
Fax:  (787) 767-0467
Primary Physician - Dr. Aida L. Quintero Noriega
email: dermatol.rcm@upr.edu email: aida.quintero@upr.edu
Public Health Nurse - Sonia Santos-Exposito, RN,
email: sonia.santos@upr.edu
Telephone: (787) 758-2525, Ext. 5503

 

SEATTLE HD CLINIC
Harborview Medical Center
2 West Clinic – 359930, 325 Ninth Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
PH: (206)744-2212
Fax: (206) 744-5174
Physician - Dr. James Harnisch
email: jpharnisch@comcast.net
Public Health Nurse – Chinh Tran, RN
email: tranc@uw.edu
Telephone: (206) 744-5113

 

SPRINGDALE HD CLINIC
Joseph H. Bates Outreach Clinic of Washington County
614 E. Emma Avenue, Suite 247
Springdale, AR 72764
PH:   (479)-751-3630
Fax:  (479)-751-4838
Physician: Linda McGhee, MD
email: mcghee@umas.edu
Public Health Nurse - Sandy Hainline-Williams, RN
email: sandra.hainline@arkansas.gov
Telephone: (479) 751-3630

 

TEXAS HD CLINICS Headquarters
Department of State Health Services
Hansens Disease Program
P. O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1939
Austin, TX 78714-9347
PH:   (800) 252-8239
Fax:  (512) 365-7824
Nurse Consultant: Elizabeth Foy, RN, BSN
email: Elizabeth.foy@dshs.state.tx.us
Telephone: (512) 533-3144

 

Denton County Public Health
Denton Office
535 S. Loop 288, Ste. 1003
Denton, TX 76205
PH:   (940) 349-2900
Fax:  (877) 865-2587
Primary Physician – Dr. Javed Akram
email: Javed.Akram@dentoncounty.com
Public Health Nurse -Felicia Hopkins, RN
email: Felicia.Hopkins@dentoncounty.com
Telephone: (972) 434-4706

 

Bay Area Dermatology Associates
Webster Office (Primary Office)
#12 Professional Park
Webster, Texas 77598
PH    (281) 332-8571
Fax:  (281) 332-8307
Primary Physician: Dr. Terry Williams
email: Tewill2391@aol.com

 

UT Physician Dermatology – Texas Medical Center
Houston Office (Primary office)
Houston Med. Cnt. Professional Bldg.
6655 Travis, Ste. 700
Houston, Texas 77030
PH:   (713) 500-8260
Fax:  (713) 524-3432
Primary Physician: Dr. Steve Mays
email: Steve.Mays@uth.tmc.edu

 

Texas Center for Infectious Disease
2303 S. E. Military Drive
San Antonio, TX 78223
PH: (210) 531-4526
Fax:  (210) 531-4508
Primary Physician - Dr. Adriana Vasquez
email: adriana.vasquez@dshs.texas.gov
Public Health Nurse - Debbie Mata, RN
email: debbie.mata@dshs.texas.gov
Telephone: (210) 531-4576

 

Additional HD clinics in the State of Texas 

 

Date Last Reviewed:  October 2018