1. Home
  2. Grants
  3. Find Grant Funding
  4. Rural Northern Border Region Planning Program

Rural Northern Border Region Planning Program

About the program

Funding Opportunity Number: HRSA-21-106
Dates to Apply: 05/11/2021 to 06/14/2021
Bureau/Office: Federal Office of Rural Health Policy
Status: Closed
Estimated Award Date: 09/01/2021
This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Rural Northern Border Region Planning Program. The purpose of the Rural Northern Border Region Planning Program is to assist in the planning and identifying of key rural health issues in the rural Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC) service area1. The program supports planning activities to identify key rural health issues, assess rural health challenges, and engage in strategic planning activities to inform rural health plans across the northern border region. The ultimate goal of the program is to help underserved rural communities identify and better address their health care needs. Projects may include planning activities that address challenges related to access to care and health care workforce or assist small rural hospitals improve their financial and operational performance. Applicants should build upon existing policy and academic reports so that products resulting from this award further existing efforts, where applicable.   Rural Northern Border Region Planning Program funds will support 18 months of planning activities. For the purposes of this award, planning activities are those that prepare a community to provide direct services.

Who can apply

Eligible applicants are located in the following NBRC-designated service areas: Maine: Androscoggin*, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Oxford, Penobscot*, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo, and Washington counties New Hampshire: Belknap, Carroll, Cheshire, Coos, Grafton, and Sullivan counties New York: Cayuga, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer*, Jefferson*, Lewis, Livingston*, Madison*, Montgomery, Niagara*, Oneida*, Orleans*, Oswego*, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Sullivan, Washington*, Warren*, Wayne*, and Yates* counties Vermont: Addison, Bennington, Caledonia, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin*, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orange, Orleans, Rutland, Washington, Windham, and Windsor counties *Indicates partially rural counties located in the NBRC service area. All other counties are fully rural with the exception of the following non-rural counties: Rensselaer, Saratoga, and Schenectady County in New York, and Chittenden and Grand Isle County in Vermont.

Contact us

Maribel Nunez

Grants toolbox

Contact us

Contact HRSA
(TTY: 877-897-9910)
M - F | 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
(except holidays)

Call 800-518-4726
Email support

Report fraud
Submit a Complaint
Call: 1-800-HHS TIPS
(TTY: 1-800-377-4950)