1. Home
  2. Grants
  3. Find Grant Funding
  4. State Newborn Screening System Priorities Program (NBS Propel)

State Newborn Screening System Priorities Program (NBS Propel)

About the program

Funding Opportunity Number: HRSA-23-065
Dates to Apply: 11/14/2022 to 02/13/2023
Bureau/Office: Maternal & Child Health Bureau
Status: Closed
Estimated Award Date: 07/01/2023
The purpose of NBS Propel is to support state/territory NBS programs addressing state/territory-specific challenges; pursue priorities to enhance, improve, and expand the NBS System; improve on NBS timeliness; support implementation of new conditions added to the Recommended Uniform Screening Panel; and increase access to treatment and follow-up activities for individuals and their families with conditions identified through NBS. NBS Propel has two focus areas: Focus Area 1 includes activities related to improving collection of specimens, testing of specimens, and reporting out results, including and improving the timeliness of these activities; and implementing screening for newly added RUSP conditions. Focus Area 2 includes activities related to improving short-term follow-up1 through long-term follow-up2 and helping families understand and navigate the process from confirmation of a diagnosis to treatment, and through follow-up across the lifespan. These activities include expanding access to diagnosis and treatment resources for providers and families of infants with SCID and other NBS disorders with a focus on reaching underserved populations, and empowering families to actively engage at all levels of the newborn screening system.3 Up to 25 recipients will be awarded under NBS Propel to up to 25 different states. Up to three awards will be made to states in each of the 10 HHS/HRSA regions listed below. Region 1: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont Region 2: New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands Region 3: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia Region 4: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee Region 5: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin Region 6: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas Region 7: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska Region 8: Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming Region 9: American Samoa, Arizona, California, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Hawaii, Marshall Islands, Nevada, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Region 10: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

Who can apply

Eligible applicants include a state or political subdivision of a state, or a consortium of two or more states or political subdivisions of states.

Contact us

Kim Morrison, MS

Grants toolbox

Contact us

Contact HRSA
(TTY: 877-897-9910)
M - F | 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.
(except holidays)

Call 800-518-4726
Email support

Report fraud
Submit a Complaint
Call: 1-800-HHS TIPS
(TTY: 1-800-377-4950)