Regional Genetics Networks

Announcement Number:

Maternal & Child Health Bureau

Date(s) to Apply:
10/16/2019 to 01/14/2020

Estimated Award Date:

What is the program?

This notice announces the opportunity to apply for funding under the Regional Genetics Networks (RGN) program. The purpose of this program is to develop and support a regional infrastructure system to provide health care professionals with education and to assess and coordinate follow-up and treatment relating to genetic disorders by linking patients to genetic services.1 Each RGN will accomplish this by:
• developing and implementing mechanisms to identify individuals and their families with or at risk for such disorders, and to connect them to genetic services, with a focus on individuals who are underserved;
• coordinating with the Advances in Integrating Genetics into Clinical Care (AIGCC) (HRSA-20-050) program to provide health professionals with education, training, and other resources to improve their knowledge of genetic conditions and improve their ability to: identify individuals with or at risk for those conditions; refer for genetic services, apply genetic information in clinical management; and care for underserved population(s) in partnership with genetic services providers within the region;
• facilitating the implementation of telehealth and/or telemedicine to increase access to genetic services; and
• coordinating with the National Genetics Education and Family Support Program (HRSA- 20-049), and provide education to families, especially those who are underserved, about genetics and genetic services.
HRSA will fund one application per region, and recipients will undertake activities to support all of the states listed for the Region. Seven Regional Genetics Networks will be funded, as follows:
1. New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
2. Mid-Atlantic: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Virginia, and West Virginia.
3. Southeast: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
4. Midwest: Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.
5. Heartland: Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, and South Dakota.
6. Mountain: Arizona, Colorado, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.
7. Western: Alaska, California, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.

Are you eligible?

Eligible applicants include: (1) a state or a political subdivision of a state; (2) a consortium of two or more states or political subdivisions of states; (3) a territory; (4) a health facility or program operated by or pursuant to a contract with or grant from the Indian Health Service; or (5) any other entity with appropriate expertise in newborn screening, as determined by the Secretary.


Contact Us

Ann Ferrero, MPH

Phone: (301) 443-3999

Track Your Application

Use our track application tool

Accessibility Disclaimer

If you use assistive technology, you may not be able to access information in these files. For help, contact EHB Customer Support Center at 1-877-464-4772 (Option 1).